Skip to content

Top 5 Fridays: Top 5 Things I Love about being back in LA

Friday, January 13, 2012

I used to fight living in LA… but after 8 years in the city, it’s grown on me in more ways than I understand. After being away for months in the last year, home feels great. Here are my top 5 favorite things about being back in LA:

  1. Friends. Traveling around the world we met so many awesome people from all walks of life and all corners of the globe, but there’s nothing like spending time with the ones who know you the best, who don’t need to start at the beginning, and who understand where you’re coming from.
  2. Diversity. LA is one of the most diverse cities in the world (most metrics place it as one of the top 5 cities in the world for diversity). You can meet people from nearly every country here, enjoy their food, and share in their culture. It’s like traveling without leaving the city. (Aside: this also prepared us really well for nearly everywhere we went, because we already knew basics of many cultures and cuisines… South America? We got that covered! Korea? We know Korea town up and down! Thailand? We don’t need that menu, thanks!)
  3. Mexican food. One of the few cuisines that’s REALLY REALLY hard to find everywhere outside the US. When we found not one but two Mexican restaurants in Chiang Mai, Thailand, I’m not ashamed to say we tried them both.
  4. Weather. I love seasons. I love snow. I love a good thunderstorm. But I really love being able to walk outside the house, any time of day, and not worry about being frozen or overheated or needing an umbrella or a hat.
  5. Mountains. I love the mountains of California, and in LA they are never far away. Driving along the 210 between Sunland and Montrose yesterday, hugged between the San Gabriels and the Verdugos… now that made me feel like I was home.

Traveling is exhilarating and amazing, but it also can be exhausting. When we weren’t actively exploring a new city, we were planning our next moves… it sounds funny to say, but we often didn’t have much down-time. It feels great to be back home and not need to plan too much… to be able to just watch TV or chill out without feeling like “I’ve got to go see 3 more temples in this town before tomorrow!” I’m sure after a month or two back here, I’ll get the itch to travel again. But for now, it’s great to be home.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeffrey Travis permalink
    Friday, January 13, 2012 6:20 pm

    Well said. These are some the reasons we love living in L.A. too. Good to have you guys back for a while!

  2. Friday, January 13, 2012 6:26 pm

    I know exactly what you mean… you’re there, you don’t dare miss the best sites… but it can be as tiring as it is fun and exciting. Go-go-go.

    Welcome home! 🙂
    I remember you not feeling quite the warm glow about LA when we first met. Glad to hear you love being here for now, cuz I’d miss you if you moved away! 🙂

    We moved here in 2004 (FEB). 8th anniversary in a couple weeks.
    We love it, and have grown deep roots.

    ~S 🙂

  3. Judy Caplan permalink
    Saturday, January 14, 2012 12:24 pm

    Sounds like you are happy to be back. Dare I say a Dorthy/Wizard of Oz moment.

Leave a Reply

