Skip to content

Photo of the Day – Gas station, Thai style

Saturday, June 30, 2012

I can’t help it. Some days I wake up and I was in Thailand again, on the island, in between a beach soak and a coconut milkshake, scootering past fields and small homes with my arms around my husband.  It’s the place I felt most at peace, the place I most want to return.  Last night I was back there.  What a bummer to wake up to the sounds of the nearby highway and know that the island is miles and months away.

Here’s a gas station on the island.  You get your liter of gas in a perfect liter container – an old soda bottle.  Run by ladies off the side of the road. Easy & low-fi.

Recommended reading for your Thai island trip: “The Beach.” It perfectly captures the backpacker mood and is one of the best post-modern novels I’ve read in a long time.

My employer asked me if I had any vacation plans after my current project ends.  Immediately, Thailand popped into my mind’s eye.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

