Skip to content

Photo of the day: Hawaii Sunset special

Friday, July 6, 2012

Living in LA, Hawaii is the go-to tropical destination for many of our friends here.  I had never been until we had a 2-day stopover on our way back to LA from Thailand.  I experienced Hawaii in what may have been the worst possible way, reeling from culture shock after 4 months abroad, and frustrated that we weren’t still in my favorite tropical paradise (Thailand) due to visa restrictions and other practical concerns.  Sure, it’s nice, I thought, but all of this is 1/4 the price in Southeast Asia and way more interesting culturally and why am I not still in a hammock on the beach drinking a coconut milkshake after getting a massage for $6?

Since then I’ve realized that I didn’t give Hawaii a fair shake.  It is truly incredibly beautiful. It has amazing Asian-Hawaiian-fusion food. The waves are a wonder of nature and the blend of cultures, a pleasant surprise.  A freshly fried malasada may have been one of the best desserts I have ever put in my mouth.  I also realized the advantages of staggering your travels with “tough” destinations and “easy” ones, as each makes you appreciate the other more.

So here’s a typically beautiful postcard Hawaii sunset, captured on one of our 3 nights there, which tells you something about this place.  I’d love to go back and experience the islands on their own terms.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Friday, July 6, 2012 10:13 am

    Great sunset photo! Havent been to Thailand, but we definitely love Hawaii, and really miss those sunsets.

  2. Friday, July 6, 2012 10:14 am

    What a magical sunset. Thanks so much for sharing. I can’t wait to see more updates from your travels!

    ~Kay

  3. Saturday, July 7, 2012 6:19 pm

    Awesome sunset photo!!

  4. Friday, July 13, 2012 9:32 am

    Beautiful.
    You know what, Kristen, I had no desire to go to Hawaii for most of my life. We went to Maui one year, out of boredom and wanting to be some place warm at Christmas. We loved the people and the energy and the peacefulness. Now we find we prefer O’ahu to Maui, for many reasons, but we’d still like to see some of the other islands. 🙂

Leave a Reply

