Skip to content

Photo of the day: Lady’s slipper

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

When I was a kid, my mom would take us outside and have us count the number of pink lady’s-slippers growing among the trees around our New Hampshire home. She told us that they were protected and we needed to report our numbers to the state.  I don’t know if this is something she made up to keep us busy for a while, but it certainly left me with a sense of awe and respect for the delicate looking flowers that brightened up our woods.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Wednesday, July 25, 2012 7:36 am

    I have a friend in MA who told me about this also. I think they *are* actually protected. Gorgeous!

  2. Tuesday, July 31, 2012 10:45 am

    So fun! I was inspired to dig – http://www.nhdfl.org/natural-heritage-and-habitats/frequently-asked-questions.aspx

Leave a comment